Like drinking sex from a glass...

Say hello to the best beer on earth…

Okay, so I know that’s a hell of a way to start your first ever formal beer review, but I have tried many a beer by now, and this takes the cake.

Brooklyn Black Ops is a limited edition Brooklyn Brewery stout aged in Burbon barrels and bottled flat.  The brew is then 100% bottle re-fermented, although I only detect the slightest bit of carbonation out of it (the carbonation reminds me of a classy Champagne, so I’m wondering if that has to do with the Champagne yeast involved in the re-fermentation process).

It’s Brooklyn’s thickest stout yet, a dark black color with a nice red tint when held up to the light.  The pour comes out with a huge dark chocolate brown head that turns lighter as it recedes.

At 11.6% ABV, it’s no surprise that one can actually smell the alcohol in this brew.  To me, the whisky/burbon smell overpowers everything else, but there is definitely undertones of chocolate, coffee, vanilla, and fruit- I want to say cherry.

The first sip is viscous to the mouth- almost creamy.  As with the aroma, the alcohol taste is overwhelming with this beer- it is for those who are used to high alcohol content and the taste of liquor.  However, it is surprisingly smooth for something so strong.  First comes the sweetnest of chocolate covered fruit (still sticking with cherry) which then gives way to a soft vanilla flare.  The kicker is a bitter mixture of coffee and burbon- fitting for the “secret agent” theme behind the name.  This one definitely starts out smooth and delicious and creeps up on you like it’s nobody’s business but his own…

So, readers, not going to lie here- I started to feel this one after a half a glass, but just like Pringles, (great for the munchies,) once I started, I just couldn’t stop.  I’m a big fan of the thicker stouts and porters, and Brooklyn Brewery never disappoints.  I thought the Cookie Jar Porter would top my list for at least a year or so, but Black Ops knocks that off the map for me.  I won’t give Ops (or any beer I review here of) a letter or number rating, as I feel that is unfair because different people like different kinds of beer, whether a stout, porter, IPA, lager, brown ale, etc.  I will, however, say this:

Brooklyn Black Ops is my favorite beer to date.  Definitely a winter brew, the thick, mocha brew leaves you feeling warm and fuzzy (mostly because of the sneaky high alcohol content and delicious flavors).  However, once the warm weather comes a knockin’, Black Ops may need to retire and let the lighter brewbies come to town.

Black Ops is the culmination of Brooklyn’s darker experiments (Local 1, Local 2, Cookie Jar- they’ve really conquered it in the past couple years).  The name really says it all on this one.  If you can, I suggest running to your local craft store and picking a bottle up before they’re all gone.  As the label says:

“Brooklyn Black Ops does not exist.  However, if it did exist, it would be a robust stout concocted by the Brooklyn brewing team under cover of secrecy and hidden from everyone else at the brewery.  Supposedly, “Black Ops” was aged for four months in burbon barrels, bottled flat, and re-fermented with Champagne yeast, creating big chocolate and coffee flabors with a rich underpinning of vanilla-like oak notes.  They say there are only 1,000 cases.  We have no idea what they’re talking about.”

I don’t care what they’re talking about.  Go get your 1 pint, 9.4 fluid ounces bottle today!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

